Oklahoma State University

Fire Protection and Safety Engineering Technology
499 Cordell South
Stillwater, OK 74078
405-744-5721 office
405-744-6758 fax

Rebekah Scrogum
Administrative Support Specialist

Only at OSU

Did you know Oklahoma State University (OSU) is home to the nation’s only ABET accredited Fire Protection and Safety Engineering Technology (FPST) program? The President’s Committee on the Arts and Humanities knows. Recognizing the program as a "national treasure whose work is of great national importance", the Honorable Adair Wakefield Margo (Chairman, 2000-2008) praised OSU for preparing graduates who safeguard art, history and the public. OSU graduates protect people and property throughout the world from fires, chemical releases, floods, and other disasters. They’ve also protected historic structures such as the Statue of Liberty and priceless artifacts inside the Smithsonian Institution.

The FPST program is widely recognized as a world leader in preparing students for careers in fire protection, safety, industrial hygiene/exposure science, and the fire service. FPST alumni are employed across the globe in consulting, academia, government, industry, healthcare, and other sectors.  Established in 1937, the FPST program is the oldest fire/safety related program in North America.

In 2010, James Shannon, President of the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) declared that OSU Fire Protection and Safety Engineering Technology is the "Standard of Quality in the Profession."  In 1943, Horatio Bond, Chief Engineer for NFPA, spent the summer with FPST program faculty to study the effects of fire bombings during World War II for his writings on the use of fire in warfare.  It was at the end of that summer that he named Oklahoma State University the "West Point of the Fire Service," equating the FPST program to the fire service what West Point Military Academy is to the military.  At that time, students in the FPST program were required to take courses in military science and served as firefighters for the City of Stillwater.

We're More than Firefighters

The FPST Program is a 4-year degree program that concludes with a Bachelor of Science in Engineering Technology.  The FPST curriculum is designed to prepare graduates to assess and reduce risk associated with fire, safety, chemical exposures, industrial hygiene, hazardous material incidents, and much more.

The Fire Protection and Safety Engineering Technology Department is located within the College of Engineering, Architecture, and Technology (CEAT).  The program began in 1937 at OSU - Stillwater and is fully accredited by the Engineering Technology Accreditation Commission of the Accreditation Board for Engineering Technology (TAC/ABET), e-mail: accreditation@abet.org.  The program was first directed toward preparing young people for careers with the uniformed fire services.  However, the demand by business and industry for loss control specialists has resulted in the evolution of the program into one where the emphasis is on industrial fire protection, safety, occupational health, exposure science, and loss control.  The curriculum is designed to immediately introduce the student to studies in fire protection and safety enabling students to measure their interest in the field of fire protection and safety early in their academic career.

The Fire Protection and Safety Engineering 
Technology Department has five full-time faculty members, who not only teach for the school, but often instruct non-credit courses through CEAT Continuing Education.  The students in the program have the opportunity to join several student organizations to broaden their educational opportunities and experience.  The FPST program is fortunate to also have the International Fire Service Training Association/Fire Protection Publications (IFSTA/FPP), Oklahoma State Fire Service Training, and the International Fire Service Accreditation Congress (IFSAC) on the campus of Oklahoma State University.  IFSTA/FPP is the world's largest distributor of fire fighting training manuals.

A look inside OSU's nationally-recognized fire protection program - Inside OSU with Burns Hargis


Click to watch: Life of Duty "Trial by Fire" Parts I and II. 

Click to watch: Life of Duty 
"Trial by Fire" Part II with 
Chief John Norman.

Click to watch: 
OSU President Burns Hargis.

The Fire Protection & Safety Engineering Technology welcomes Robert Agnew and Virginia Charter who will join the FPST faculty as Assistant Professor in Fall 2014. (7/2014)

Dr. Wang has received funding from the NIOSH Pilot Projects Research Program for his research in confined space evacuation. (7/2014) 

Congratulations to Dr. Wang for becoming a licensed Professional Engineer! (5/2014)

Congratulations to Dr. Wang on receiving an award from the National Science Foundation (NSF) for his research project on flame retardant materials. (7/2013)  

Congratulations to Dr. Larrañaga, who was elected to the Texas Tech Academy of Industrial Engineers and became a Texas Tech Distinguished Industrial Engineer. (4/2013).

Congratulations to Dr. Wang, who was named as Big 12 Faculty Fellow!  A great accomplishment. (4/2012) 

Congratulations to alumnus Rixio E. Medina, who was elected as the President of the Board of Certified Safety Professionals.

Congratulations to alumnus Jerry Winchester, who was named CEO of Chesapeake Oilfield Services.